Important things

So this blog is the product of a seriously awesome course I’m wrapping up at Chicago Portfolio School. I’ve always considered myself a gifted writer, but everyone’s got room to improve, amiright?

One area that I knew I struggled with and was anxious to grow in was my writing for social media (also the name of the course, go figure). I previously interned for a young dog treat company (the company was young; they don’t discriminate against dogs of any age, breed or fur color), where I was a copywriter. Surprisingly, and in retrospect, thankfully, I wasn’t really asked to write anything for their social media pages. I say “thankfully” because a few months later, I realized how much I sucked at writing for brands.

As a favor for a friend of my sister’s best friend’s mom (what?), and to bolster my own experience, I took on the task of managing the Twitter and Pinterest pages for a new cosmetic product/brand. The owner really wanted more people to know about her flippin’ sweet product and social media is obviously the cheapest and seemingly easiest way to do so. Except that it’s totally not easy.

Thank God and sweet baby Jesus for this class. It sounds obvious, but I feel that my writing will have changed the most simply in that I now know the various formulas and unwritten rules for promoting a brand through media such as Facebook and Twitter, the two with which I struggled the most. I look forward to (in the sense that I’m glad I have them available to me) reviewing our class PowerPoints over and over until I’m able to find what really works for me and whatever brand I may be assigned to. Ok, but I need a job first so hire me?

Leave a Reply

